Not far from the King Power Stadium was – on the street of the same name – Filbert Street, home of Leicester City from 1891 to 2002. Today, little in the place is reminiscent of the football past, except for the Lineker Road, named after Gary Lineker, which cuts across the old stadium ground. Not the most beautiful tribute to the club legend, a soulless street over the largely vacant lot.
Yet for those who look carefully, there is still something to be found from the old stadium. On Filbert Street, turn the corner to Brummoor Street, a quintessential English street with small working-class houses like so many in England. Halfway through the street, however, at numbers 49 and 51 something stands out: The brutal concrete facade of the ground floor was clearly only used later. It portrays the football past of the stadium, because this used to be the entrance to the branch of Filbert Street. Where the grey facade is now, thousands of supporters used to walk under the house through the stadium.
Just down the street (on the corner with Lineker Road) a charming mural of Leicester fans was created after the 2016 league title.